Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Very Veggie Pesach 2016: Pizza! Pizza! Pizza! Pizza!

Pizza: the food that people long for the most during Passover, the first thing that many people eat as soon as Passover ends. But what if there was a pizza we could have during Passover? This year I offer you four different kosher-for-Passover pizza recipes. These are not vegan (all have cheese on top and most require egg to hold the crust together), but one of them is gluten-free and two more could be made gluten-free with a substitution. Best of all: the common vegetable toppings for pizza are all kosher-for-Passover vegetables: onions, peppers, mushrooms, olives, broccoli and pineapple!

I haven't been able to make these crusts sturdy enough to eat with your hands as you normally eat pizza. You will need a fork and knife, or more cooking skill than I have! A friend suggested using a 12-inch cast iron pan to cook the crust and pizza in, making a pan pizza, which sounds like an interesting idea.

I offer you:

But first, some notes about getting kosher-for-Passover ingredients for all of them...

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Very Veggie Pesach 2016: Quinoa Update

Quinoa is a great source of vegan protein. These tasty seeds are a complete source of protein, very rare in the plant world (usually, vegetarians have to combine beans and grains to get the full range of amino acids). When quinoa first became popular in the United States, many of the kosher certification organizations suspected that it might be kitniyos, a class of foods that are not forbidden on Passover by the Torah but are forbidden to Ashkenazim (Eastern European Jews) by longstanding custom. In the last few years, however, major kosher certification organizations like OU, Star-K and CRC have accepted quinoa as kosher for Passover, by Orthodox standards.

You will be happy to know that Ancient Harvest brand quinoa, the most widespread brand and my personal favorite, is KOSHER FOR PASSOVER WITHOUT SPECIAL CERTIFICATION! The Star K organization, which certifies Ancient Harvest year-round, has said in their 2016 Passover Directory that all three of Ancient Harvest's quinoa seed products are kosher for Passover, without the need for a "P" next to the Star-K logo.

This ruling applies ONLY to the seed products, not to their many other quinoa based products, like pastas and cereals.

Coming soon... four different recipes for kosher-for-Passover pizza!